Joseph Pulitzer Lex-Ham Community Theater
Pulitzer Prize Winning Plays
Reading Series

The Lexington-Hamline Community Theater is sponsoring a reading series of Pulitzer Prize winning plays.  The readings are held in homes, are quite informal, and include a pot-luck supper.  Anyone who has an interest in top-notch American drama, young or old, is encouraged to attend one, some, or all the readings.

The next session is will be Sweat by Lynn Nottage on May 11, 2018.
The readings are held at 1184 Portland Avenue, Saint Paul.

The format for each session is:

6:30 p.m., pot-luck supper
7:00 p.m., start reading.  The group will read the whole play during the evening.
No previous acting experience is required.
Each person is responsible for bringing a copy of the play.

.Hamilton readers - May 12, 2017
Some of the participants at the May 12, 2017 reading of Hamilton by Lyn-Manuel Miranda

Pulitzer Prize Winning Plays
Year.Winning Play
1917. (No Award)
1918.Why Marry? by Jesse Lynch Williams
1919.(No Award)
1920.Beyond the Horizon by Eugene O'Neill
1921.Miss Lulu Bett by Zona Gale
1922.Anna Christie by Eugene O'Neill
1923.Icebound by Owen Davis
1924.Hell-Bent Fer Heaven by Hatcher Hughes
1925.They Knew What They Wanted by Sidney Howard
1926.Craig's Wife by George Kelly
1927.In Abraham's Bosom by Paul Green
1928.Strange Interlude by Eugene O'Neill
1929.Street Scene by Elmer L. Rice
1930.The Green Pastures by Marc Connelly
1931.Alison's House by Susan Glaspell
1932.Of Thee I Sing by George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind and Ira Gershwin
1933.Both Your Houses by Maxwell Anderson
1934.Men in White by Sidney Kingsley
1935.The Old Maid by Zoe Akins
1936.Idiots Delight by Robert E. Sherwood
1937.You Can't Take It With You by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman
1938.Our Town by Thornton Wilder
1939.Abe Lincoln in Illinois by Robert E. Sherwood
1940.The Time of Your Life by William Saroyan
1941.There Shall Be No Night by Robert E. Sherwood
1942.(No Award)
1943.The Skin of Our Teeth by Thornton Wilder
1944.(No Award)
1945.Harvey by Mary Chase
1946.State of the Union by Russel Crouse and Howard Lindsay
1947.(No Award)
1948.A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams
1949.Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller
1950.South Pacific by Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein 2nd and Joshua Logan
1951.(No Award)
1952.The Shrike by Joseph Kramm
1953.Picnic by William Inge
1954.The Teahouse of the August Moon by John Patrick
1955.Cat on A Hot Tin Roof by Tennessee Williams
1956.Diary of Anne Frank by Albert Hackett and Frances Goodrich
1957.Long Day's Journey Into Night by Eugene O'Neill
1958.Look Homeward, Angel by Ketti Frings
1959.J. B. by Archibald Macleish
1960.Fiorello! by Book by Jerome Weidman and George Abbott, Music by Jerry Bock and Lyrics by Sheldon Harnick
1961.All The Way Home by Tad Mosel
1962.How To Succeed In Business Without Really Trying by Frank Loesser and Abe Burrows
1963.(No Award)
1964.(No Award)
1965.The Subject Was Roses by Frank D. Gilroy
1966.(No Award)
1967.A Delicate Balance by Edward Albee
1968.(No Award)
1969.The Great White Hope by Howard Sackler
1970.No Place To Be Somebody by Charles Gordone
1971.The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-In-The-Moon Marigolds by Paul Zindel
1972.(No Award)
1973.That Championship Season by Jason Miller
1974.(No Award)
1975.Seascape by Edward Albee
1976.A Chorus Line by Conceived, choreographed and directed by Michael Bennett, with book by James Kirkwood and Nicholas Dante, music by Marvin Hamlisch, and lyrics by Edward Kleban
1977.The Shadow Box by Michael Cristofer
1978.The Gin Game by Donald L. Coburn
1979.Buried Child by Sam Shepard
1980.Talley's Folly by Lanford Wilson
1981.Crimes of the Heart by Beth Henley
1982.A Soldier's Play by Charles Fuller
1983.'Night, Mother by Marsha Norman
1984.Glengarry Glen Ross by David Mamet
1985.Sunday in the Park With George by Music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by James Lapine
1986.(No Award)
1987.Fences by August Wilson
1988.Driving Miss Daisy by Alfred Uhry
1989.The Heidi Chronicles by Wendy Wasserstein
1990.The Piano Lesson by August Wilson
1991.Lost in Yonkers by Neil Simon
1992.The Kentucky Cycle by Robert Schenkkan
1993.Angels in America: Millennium Approaches by Tony Kushner
1994.Three Tall Women by Edward Albee
1995.The Young Man From Atlanta by Horton Foote
1996.Rent by Jonathan Larson
1997.(No Award)
1998.How I Learned to Drive by Paula Vogel
1999.Wit by Margaret Edson
2000.Dinner With Friends by Donald Margulies
2001.Proof by David Auburn
2002.Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks
2003.Anna in the Tropics by Nilo Cruz
2004. I Am My Own Wife by Doug Wright
2005.Doubt, a parable by John Patrick Shanley
2006.(No Award)
2007.Rabbit Hole by David Lindsay-Abaire
2008.August: Osage County by Tracy Letts
2009.Ruined by Lynn Nottage
2010 .Next to Normal, music by Tom Kitt, book and lyrics by Brian Yorkey
2011 .Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris
2012 .Water by the Spoonful by Quiara Alegrķa Hudes
2013 .Disgraced by Ayad Akhtar
2014 .The Flick by Annie Baker
2015 .Between Riverside and Crazy by Stephen Adly Guirgis
2016 . Hamilton by Lin-Manuel Miranda
2017 . Sweat by Lynn Nottage

Call 651-644-3366 or contact for more information.

Return to Lex-Ham Community Theater home page

Last updated: 1/27/2018